Previous bishops


Fourth Bishop of Wollongong

Peter William Ingham was born at Crows Nest, NSW, on 19 January 1941. He was ordained to the priesthood for the Archdiocese of Sydney by His Eminence Cardinal Gilroy at St Mary’s Cathedral on 18 July 1964. Following some parish appointments, he spent six years as private secretary to His Eminence Cardinal Freeman and general secretary of the Archdiocese for 10 years. He was nominated a prelate of honour to His Holiness Pope John Paul II in 1986. In 1990 he returned to parish ministry as parish priest of St Charles, Ryde. He was ordained auxiliary bishop of Sydney on 12 July 1993 by His Eminence Cardinal Clancy. He was installed as the fourth bishop of Wollongong on 25 July 2001. In July 2013, Bishop Ingham celebrated the 20th anniversary of his episcopal ordination and on 18 July 2014 he celebrated the 50th anniversary of his ordination to the priesthood. Bishop Ingham retired on 30 November 2017. On 11 March 2020, Bishop Ingham was appointed apostolic visitator of the Diocese of Broome.


Third Bishop of Wollongong

Philip Edward Wilson was born at Cessnock, NSW, on  2 October 1950. He was ordained to the priesthood for the Diocese of Maitland-Newcastle on 23 August 1975. In 1987, he was appointed vicar general to Bishop Leo Clarke in the Diocese of Maitland-Newcastle. He studied Canon Law in Washington DC, obtaining his licentiate in Canon Law in May 1992. He returned to Washington in 1995 to complete his doctorate, but had his studies interrupted on being appointed bishop of Wollongong on 12 April 1996.

He was ordained third bishop of Wollongong on 10 July 1996. Bishop Wilson was appointed coadjutor archbishop of Adelaide on 30 November 2000 and was installed as archbishop of Adelaide on 3 December 2001. Archbishop Wilson resigned as the archbishop of Adelaide on 30 July 2018.


Second Bishop of Wollongong

William Edward Murray was born in Leichhardt, NSW, on 16 February 1920. He was ordained to the priesthood for the Archdiocese of Sydney on 21 July 1945.

He studied in Rome between 1955 and 1958 gaining a doctorate in Social Science. He was subsequently spokesman for the Archdiocese of Sydney and director of the Catholic Information Bureau. Prior to being appointed a bishop, Dr Murray was rector of St Columba’s College in Springwood.

He was ordained second bishop of Wollongong on 21 July 1975 at St Francis Xavier Cathedral, Wollongong. Bishop Murray retired as the bishop of Wollongong in February 1996 and died on 21 April 2013.


First Bishop of Wollongong

Thomas Absolem McCabe was born at South West Rocks, NSW, on 30 June 1902.

He was ordained to the priesthood for the Diocese of Lismore on 20 December 1925. On 12 March 1939, he was ordained as bishop of Port Pirie (Port Augusta), South Australia, and on 15 November 1951 was appointed the first bishop of Wollongong. He was installed at St Francis Xavier Cathedral in Wollongong on 24 February 1952.

Due to ill health, Bishop McCabe resigned on 10 May 1974. Bishop McCabe died at Polding Villa, Glebe, on the feast of the Holy Cross on 14 September 1983.