IMMACULATE HEART OF MARY CURIA WOLLONGONG

<u>1963 - 2018</u>

The various praesidia below are or were located at Albion Park, Bulli, Corrimal,Dapto, Fairy Meadow, Port Kembla, Thirroul, Unanderra, Warrawong, Wollongong and a Vietnamese group.

All female members are referred to as Sister (Sr) and all male members are referred to as Brother (Br). Some members christian names or surnames are unknown.

Spiritual Directors

OUR LADY OF THE WAY - ALBION PARK (1982 - 1995)

Spiritual Director - Father Patrick Faherty

Members - Sr Ann Larkin, Sr Anna Leschnik, Sr Bernadette McGinley, Sr Beryl Rainey, Sr Bridie O'Gorman, Sr Cathalina Austin, Sr Ellen Douglas, Sr Eileen Davies, Sr Elizabeth Myers,

Sr Elizabeth Reamer, Sr Genny Du Bois, Sr Gwen Weule,

Sr Janice Cox, Sr Jenny Raposier, Sr Judy Small, Sr Kath Lord,

Sr Kay Duffy, Sr Lee Moore, Sr Louise Gallagher, Sr Luigina Farrugia, Sr Maria Simpson, Sr Maude Vella, Sr Maureen Timbs, Sr May Martin, Sr Patricia Reynolds, Sr Roma Jurgens, Sr Ann Brennan, Sr Sue Gill, Sr Sylvia Jarvis, Sr Ula Hannerman, Sr Vicki Ziyderman, Sr Atkinson, Sr Gal, Sr Gilbert, Sr Kennedy, Sr Dorothy Taylor, Br Leo Gleeson and Br Leo Taylor

There was an Albion Park praesidium started in 1963-1964, but there are no records for that period.

OUR LADY STAR OF THE NEW EVANGELISATION-

ALBION PARK (2012-2018)

Spiritual Director - Sister Carmel

Members - Sr Bernadette Roberts, Sr Maria Cassar, Sr Linda O'Rourke, Sr Sandra Vieira, Sr Ljubica Catlin, Sr Agnes Gibbons,

Br Tom Hawker, Br Ron Graham, Br Paul Roberts, Br Frank Cassar, Br Alistair Schumacher, Br Allan O'Rourke and Br Tony Valera.

OUR LADY QUEEN OF THE MISSIONS- BULLI (1966)

Spiritual Directors -

Sister Kathleen Walsh and Sister Catherine Clifford

Members - Sr Pat Dennison, Sr Jean McEwan, Sr Brenda Kelleher, Sr Tess Ricardo, Sr Claire Hughes and Br Beau Hewett.

OUR LADY HELP OF CHRISTIANS - CORRIMAL (1961 - 2018)

Spiritual Directors - Monsignor Downey, Father R Hazlitt, Father M Rosa, Father Jacques, Sister Ruth Davies and Father Geoffrey Allen

Members - Sr Edith Riordan, Sr Mena Barrett, Sr Bess Jordan, Sr Mel Byrnes, Sr Beryl Gray, Sr Sheila Looney, Sr Pahlow, Sr Evelyn Gardner, Sr Sadie Cropper, Sr Mary White, Sr Edna Holden, Sr Rene Tosi, Sr Kath Byron, Sr Grace Harvey, Sr Aida Marcoln, Sr Norma Long, Sr Maria Vollich, Sr Patterson, Sr Hyland, Sr Petrov, Sr Carter, Sr Clare Parkes, Sr Marion Hardy, Sr Eileen Gilroy, Sr Lorna Murphy, Sr Rita Large, Sr Pat Purdie,

Sr Eileen Rudd, Sr Brown, Sr Rosemary Casratto, Sr Langley, Sr Heininger, Sr Maggie Chilby, Sr Del Curren, Sr Milli Komarnicki, Sr Phil Bastock, Sr Jackie Reeves, Sr Pat Brennan, Br Wilf Moon,

Sr Joy Raines, Sr Robyn Walker, Sr Tammy Clarke, Sr Gail Brown and Br Geoff Glover.

OUR LADY OF THE ROSARY - DAPTO (1992 - 1995)

Spiritual Director - Sister Batholomew

Members - Sr Trudy Scremin, Sr Coral Briffa, Sr Anita Gonano, Sr Kathleen Caruana, Sr Verginia Haigh, Sr Kathy Cole, Sr Rita Bicego and Sr Anna.

OUR LADY OF DIVINE WILL - DAPTO (2013 - 2018)

Members - Br Emmanuel Caruana, Sr Patricia Brookes, Br Andy Brookes, Sr Elizabeth Grovenor, Sr Maria Fleming, Sr Beth Perez, and Sr Elvira Ubungen.

OUR LADY QUEEN OF PEACE - FAIRY MEADOW (1992 - 2018)

Spiritual Director - Sister June Barrett

Members - Sr Fran Woods, Sr Pat Brennan, Sr Bridie Keevers, Br Wilf Moon, Sr Josephine Emek, Br Reg Woods, Sr Sue Sainty, Sr Sr Tess Ricardo, Br Andie Van Der Linden, Sr Maria Gan, Br Alf Marriott, Sr Bridget Dowdall, Sr June Bourke, Sr Joan Phillips, Sr Lillian Hughes, Sr Margaret Pedersen, Sr Melby Clarke,

Sr Alice Kikalis, Sr Nita Berghuis, Sr Helen Keating and Sr Irena Caruana.

OUR LADY OF THE SOUTHERN CROSS - PORT KEMBLA - 2017

Spiritual Director - Father George Condookala Members - Sr Donna Leng, Sr Marife Tonkin, Sr Cecilia Y Chen and Sr Marinka Chavez.

OUR LADY OF LOURDES - THIRROUL (1996 - 1998)

Members - Sr Irene O'Connor, Sr Buckley, Sr Griffen and Sr Clifford

OUR LADY OF THE IMMACULATE CONCEPTION - UNANDERRA

(1985 - 2016)

Spiritual Directors - Father Leo Stephens, Sister Catherine Clifford, Sister Kathleen Walsh, Sr Joan Goodwin and Father Graham Schmitzer

Members- Sr Aida Marcoln, Sr Grace Bel, Sr Sue Mears, Sr Val Humphries, Sr Margaret Laughlin, Sr Iris Morris, Sr Nancy Crowe, Sr Marie Dawson, Sr Molly Rowe, Sr Anne Turner,

Sr Adams, Sr Mary Bourke, Sr Antonia Marciana, Sr Annette Micallef, Sr Bruna Tosti, Sr Win, Sr Brigulo, Sr Clare O'Connor,

Sr Steele, Sr Beliaew, Sr Deegan, Br Deegan, Sr Cleary, Sr Pat Barrett, Sr Gladys Barlow, Sr Shirley Kristianson, Sr Mary Yates, Sr Eve Andrews, Sr Fernandez, Sr Anita Dickie, Sr Rhona Dorian, Sr Harvie, Sr McCann, Sr Thomas, Sr Cidalia, Sr Aida Bil and Sr Agnes Oggero

OUR LADY OF PERPETUAL HELP - WARRAWONG

Spiritual Director - Sister Grace Cini

Members - Sr Aida Bil, Sr Cidalia, Sr Maria Lourdes Coelho,

Sr Nita Pillon, Sr Canning Schurr, Sr Julfa Huntingford, Sr Christy Barrero, Sr Carol Hizon, Sr Magdalena Bons, Sr Maria Cassar,

Br Frank Cassar, Sr Tina Chicharo, Sr Adele Sykes, Sr Jo Bos and Sr Miriam

OUR LADY STAR OF THE SEA - WOLLONGONG - 1963

Spiritual Directors - Father Webber and Father P Kenna

Members - Sr Catherine Tuxworth, Sr Maria Malady, Sr Jean Dowdell, Sr Therese Wright, Sr Clare Robertson, Sr Robyn MacShane, Sr Geraldine Land, Sr Neilia, Sr Evelyn Malcolm, Sr Back, Sr Dumbleton, Br Dillon, Br O'Connell, Sr Murray,

Br Peters, Sr Everett, Sr Mayne, Br Hissian, Sr Ford, Br Malady, Br O'Driscoll, Br McCurdy, Br Starkey, Sr Claire Hughes, Sr Leila Wall, Sr Stephanie Colquhoun, Sr Ruth Baker, Sr Eustelle Boil,

Sr Vi McBroom and Sr Luchetti

There was a junior praesidium at Wollongong at this time. Some members of the Wollongong CURIA were Liaison Officers for the Children's Court.

VIETNAMESE

Spiritual Director - Father Ha

Member - Sr Hung

The following names are of the living members of the Legion of Mary in our Wollongong area, who have given twenty years or more service to this lay apostolate. They are

Tess Ricardo-Moon (1960, as a junior - 2018)

Aida Marcoln (1985 - 2015)

Mary Bourke (1986 - 2016)

Antonia Marciana (1987 - 2016)

Molly Rowe (1990 - 2016)

Pat Purdie (1991 - 2018)

Eve Andrews (1992 - 2015)

Clare Parkes joined in England in 1940s. After coming to Australia, she rejoined in 1980 until 2009.

Evelyn Gardner was present at the first CURIA meeting in 1963 and she was the second president of the CURIA.

Tom Hawker opened a junior praesidium in 1976. From 2012 - 2018, he has been a member of the Albion Park praesidium.











